UACES Facebook CES Director Search 2023
skip to main content

Senior Associate VP for Agriculture Search 

Finalists for the position of Cooperative Extension Service director

John Anderson portrait

Dr. John Anderson 

John Anderson is a professor and head of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness for the Division of Agriculture and the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences. 

Anderson is also director of the Fryar Price Risk Management Center of Excellence. He joined the Division of Agriculture in 2020. 

Anderson earned his Ph.D. from Oklahoma State University, his master's in agriculture from Arkansas State University and a bachelor's degree in agribusiness from College of the Ozarks. He also holds a master's degree in Christian Leadership from the Dallas Theological Seminary. 

See Anderson's CV

Interview dates: Sept. 28-29.

Watch his seminar on Friday, Sept. 29, 11 a.m.

Register here for Anderson's seminar 


Stacey McCullough portrait Dr. Stacey McCullough

Stacey McCullough currently serves as assistant vice president-Community, Professional and Economic Development for the Cooperative Extension Service. She is also director of the Division of Agriculture's Public Policy Center

McCullough has been with the Division of Agriculture since 2004 and was an economist in the private sector from 1994-2004.

She has a Ph.D. in public policy from the University of  Arkansas, a master's degree in agricultural and applied economics, and a bachelor's of business administration from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.  

See McCullough's CV

Interview dates: Oct. 5-6.

Watch her seminar on Friday, Oct. 6, 11 a.m.

Register here for McCullough's seminar




About the Senior Associate Vice President Position

The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture seeks a visionary leader to serve as our next Senior Associate Vice President for Extension. The SAVP Extension will serve as the Director of the Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service with responsibilities for operations, management, programs, stakeholder relations and services involving about 600 appointed full-time and 200 part-time personnel. This includes management of federal, state, and county appropriated funds along with grant and gift resources, and an annual budget of $61 million. The position is headquartered in Little Rock and directly supervises an executive team including Associate Directors, Assistant Directors, District Directors, and other administrative staff. The Cooperative Extension Service has outlying Centers in Lonoke and Newport, with county agents and staff in all 75 Arkansas counties, and faculty and staff on seven Experiment Station Centers and two University campuses.

The UADA includes the Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service and the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station along with strong linkages to the Dale Bumpers College of Agriculture at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. Our employees are diverse and work in an equally diverse set of disciplines and focuses. We serve with a zeal to help others, embrace a collaborative spirit, and share common values of integrity, collaboration, accountability, relevance, and excellence. More information on the UADA and Arkansas Cooperative Extension can be found at and

Find the job description Send the names of nominees to search committee Chair Jeff Edwards.

The Search Committee 

The search committee is composed of a diverse slate of representatives from across the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. They are: 

  • Jeff Edwards. – Chair, Head of Crop Soil and Environmental Sciences
  • Diana Morian – Cooperative Extension Service IT Director
  • Debbie Nistler – Assistant VP for 4-H and Youth Development
  • Shane Gadberry – Director, Livestock and Forestry Station
  • Mary Beth Groce — Faulkner County Extension Staff Chair
  • Jarrod Hardke — Rice Extension Agronomist
  • Laura Hendrix — Interim Associate Department Head, Family and Consumer Sciences
  • Mike Blazier – Dean, College of Forestry, Agriculture and Natural Resources, UA-Monticello
  • Dave Caldwell – Head of Poultry Science
  • Hunter Goodman — Assistant Professor, Community, Professional and Economic Development
  • James Mitchell — Extension Livestock Economist
  • Kevin Lawson — Extension Ozark District Director
  • Priscella Thomas-Scott – 4-H Events Coordinator
  • Kelly Robbins – Stakeholder, Arkansas Rice

CES Director Search Timeline

The search committee will begin reviewing applications on August 1, but the position will remain open until filled. The committee anticipates conducting pre-interviews in early August and full on-site interviews in early October.


  • June 15, 2023Search launched for new Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service director
  • Sept. 14, 2023 — Deacue Fields announces three finalists named for the Cooperative Extension Service director's position. 
  • Sept. 28-29 — Interview for John Anderson.
  • Sept. 29 — Rod Williams withdraws his candidacy.
  • Oct. 5-6 — Interview for Stacey McCullough.

Our Mission

  • We strengthen agriculture, communities, and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices.

    Our Vision 

    The Division of Agriculture will be the catalyst of prosperity for Arkansas through knowledge and innovation that nourish our families, farms, communities, and environment.

    Our Brand Promise

    We serve with a zeal to help others.

    See Us in Action